Today the 17th Century Tower serves as the Bangor's Visitor Information Centre

Currently closed due to Covid-19, please contact or visit Ards Visitor Information Centre, 028 9182 6846 which is open and servicing visitor enquiries for the Borough.



The 17th Century Tower and adjoining Tower House on Bangor Seafront are well preserved reminders of Bangor's sea-faring history alongside its modern Marina.

Originally built in 1637 as a Custom House, the architecture of the Tower is unique in Bangor and rare in Ulster. Over the past 300 years the building has served various purposes - private dwellings, an antique shop and housed hot sea water baths.

The future of the Tower House was protected when the Historic Buildings Branch of the Department of the Environment added it to their "List of Buildings of Special Interest" in 1979.

Services include:
Visitor and Event Information
Ticket Sales
Accommodaton Booking Service
Gift Shop


Opening Hours

Currently closed due to Covid-19, please contact or visit Ards VIC

Opening Times

  • See main text


  • Free

Contact Details

  • Address Tower House 34 Quay Street Bangor Co.Down BT20 5ED
  • Telephone 028 9127 0069
  • Email Bangor VIC
Keep Updated

Join our mailing list and be the first to know about competitions, events, seasonal special offers and receive inspirational ideas for short breaks and unique experiences.